Lovecityliving's Blog

marriage, love, home, family … all in the city I love

Refinishing Dining Room Table and Chairs January 3, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lovecityliving @ 9:42 pm
Tags: ,

 

Here is what we started with:
Table is from Ikea a few years ago
Chairs are hand me downs from my sister.  I am pretty sure they were from Value City Furniture.

 

166

I started with the table.  I sanded, and sanded, and sanded the top.  The plan was to stain that part.  I then painted the bottom of the table to match the frame of the chair.  Kind of yellow/beige/weathered.  Please don’t mind the dust floor … it was 18 degrees outside so this happened right in the dining room.

 

168

 

Then the chairs – part 1.  The chair on the right is how they were, the one on the right is after I took the same stain as the table, and put it on then rubbed it right off the chair.  Trying to darken them up a bit. 

 

170

 

The Chairs – Part 2 – I covered the chairs with padding and fabric. 
The stain is not yet 100% dry (kind of worried, not going to lie) … but it is close to finished.

174

 

031 (2)

 

Project Summary:
Fabric  1.5 yards – $14.99

Chair Pads – $6.99/2

Stain – $5.99

Paint – from my craft closet

 

One Response to “Refinishing Dining Room Table and Chairs”

  1. […] my dining room table was one of the first projects I blogged about.  I even admitted that I was a little worried […]


Comments are closed.