Lovecityliving's Blog

marriage, love, home, family … all in the city I love

Something I learned from Martha January 7, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lovecityliving @ 2:26 am
Tags: ,

Years ago, I mean like when I lived at home and my parent’s whole house was Duron Bone White … I saw this on Martha.  It stuck with me.  She said to keep your paint stirrers together, and use them for reference when you were shopping for accessories.  Here is mine:

IMG00032

I actually took mine a few steps farther:

  1. I note on the stirrer what color, brand, and paint type it is. 
  2. I note date I purchased it.  Did you know paint can keep the same name, but the formula can change!  I learned this with my Benjamin Moore – Montgomery White , featured in the Pottery Barn catalog.  It changed from ‘07 when I first fell in love and this past December when I went to get a few gallons to fresh coat the house. So, you can see I even noted the formula on that one (second from right)
  3. I add fabric scrapes to paint stirrers for easy reference (far right).
  4. I added my floor stain too, so have an idea when buying furniture.

So when I head out to Joann Fabric, or to buy curtains, or to buy pillows I just grab this.  And I am certain everything matches.

I Heart Martha … sometimes!

 

One Response to “Something I learned from Martha”

  1. Lindsay Says:

    That is an awesome idea. I try to save the paint swatches but of course I always lose them.


Leave a Reply

