Lovecityliving's Blog

marriage, love, home, family … all in the city I love

Update – Finishing the steps February 28, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — lovecityliving @ 4:07 pm
Tags: ,

I started with a bright and early trip to Home Depot.  Home Depot opens at 6am in these parts.  At 7:30 when I arrived it was packed!  So was the parking lot to the Walmart across the street.  Why aren’t these people sleeping in on a Saturday morning!

Of course, like always I over bought.  But I will be returning all my extras this week.  Once that is done I will update the cost summary of the project.

By far the hardest most time consuming part was figuring everything out.  Assembly was a breeze.  Having a house built in 1875 means nothing at all is straight.  You could not find a level wall or floor in this house if your life depended on it!

Here is where we started:

2-24 084

 

Here is where we are this morning.  We probably worked for about 3 hours.  I come from a family of carpenters.  My father had he own business where my three brothers worked.  One brother, my helper (I am more like his helper), is still in the business.  He does great work!

steps 022

 

As you can see there is still lots to do, but we got a great start and I love how they are coming out.  We still need to trim everything out, and then paint all the trim white (all that is green will be painted white as well).

 

During the project:

steps 006

steps 009

steps 010

steps 011

steps 014

steps 016

steps 026

steps 028

 

More to come …

 

One Response to “Update – Finishing the steps”

  1. Jess Says:

    (WhiteysWifey from the Nest) I think it looks great!


Leave a Reply

